Posted on Wednesday, December 27, 2017

Review: Solitaire by Alice Oseman

Solitaire by Alice Oseman



Rating: 3/5 stars

Series: Solitaire #1 | Published: July 31st 2014 by Harper Collins Children's Books UK
Pages: 392 | Format: Paperback
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Status: read on August 16, 2017
Add it to your Goodreads



I am aware as I step into the common room that the majority of people here are almost dead, including me.


Solitaire was a big surprise. A pleasant surprise actually. I read this back in August, during my vacation in Spain, so it is a while ago, but I remember really liking this. Not loving it, obviously (I gave it 3 stars), but it was enjoyable and fun.

While I read Solitaire, I was reminded of a favorite book of mine: The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry. Solitaire had the same feeling to it. Although Solitare wasn't magical realism or fantasy, it still had this whimsical feeling to it, very similar to the feeling I got from The Love That Split the World. Especially the ending of Solitaire was fantastical in a way that I cannot explain. Michael, the "love" interest in Solitaire reminded me very much of Beau in The Love That Split the World.

I believe it was a good thing going into Solitaire with minimal clues of what this book was about. I recognized the cover from Goodreads when I first saw it, second-hand, in a small market stall in Spain... It was really a coincidence that I found this book, and I'm glad I did.

I will definitely read Alice Oseman's Radio Silence when I get the chance. I've heard better things about that one!




Solitaire was engaging and fun, and hard to put down. It had this well known flow that I love, and I liked Alice Oseman's writing.
• The perspective on a teenager's life was very accurate. It captured the life of a teen, and everything in between, really well.
• There was minimal romance in the book which is a refreshing thing. Almost every YA contemporary these days focus on romance. Friendship is equally as important!
• The friendship between Tori and Michael.


• I didn't connect with the main character, Tori, as much as I would've wanted, which is a bummer. Liking/caring for the main character is very important to me when it comes to loving a book. If I don't like/connect with the MC, I probably won't love the book.
• My main problem was also the fact that I didn't really love the story. It was OK. It had its many good sides (above), yes, but I didn't love it.

What is it about?

In case you’re wondering, this is not a love story.

My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year – before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of A-Levels and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people – I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that’s all over now.

Now there’s Solitaire. And Michael Holden.

I don’t know what Solitaire are trying to do, and I don’t care about Michael Holden.

I really don’t.

This incredible debut novel by outstanding young author Alice Oseman is perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and all unflinchingly honest writers.

Have you read this book? What did you think? :)

No comments:

Post a Comment